Adulthood Part 2: A Summer in the City

Well, so much for hoping a series would help me blog more regularly.

For those of you who read my post from almost a year ago, you know that I started a post-graduation series about my life after college. Clearly, one thing I didn’t consider was the fact that adulthood would be crazy, hectic, and put blogging at the very bottom of my to-do list. Even though it’s been nearly a year, I’m just going to pick up right where I left off. Luckily, the memories are still just as fresh as they were a year ago.

IMG_2717As I mentioned in my last post, I was accepted into the Columbia Publishing Course in New York City in April of 2015. This six-week long course teaches hopeful publishers the ins and outs of the publishing industry and includes two week-long workshops dedicated to book and magazine publishing. It’s intense, overwhelming, exhausting, and probably the most amazing experience I have ever had in my life. I met some of the most recognizable people in publishing, realized that publishing really was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, and made lifelong friends all while living in my favorite city for seven weeks.

But the true test of knowledge (and patience) came in the third week of the course. For a full week, we were split into 10 groups and charged with the task of creating our own publishing house–a name, a history, a backlist, and six new titles for our mock Fall 2015 catalog. Each group was told what type of publishing house they were (children’s, trade, academic, etc.) and let loose. Members of the group then decided who would play what role  in the publishing house (CEO, Publicity Manager, Business Manager, Editors, etc.) and started brainstorming ideas, many of which would get changed or knocked down by the panel of professional editors, publishers, agents, etc. leading the workshop.

By the end of the sleepless, exhausting week, my children’s publishing house, Rabbit Hole Books, had six very different books to present to the panel. As the CEO, I learned about people management, time management, and that sleeping is overrated. I was so proud and honored to work with the group of women I did–and I think we all walked away feeling proud of the work we did.

The next three weeks of the course focused on magazine and digital publishing and I was once again able to meet and learn from some of the biggest people in the industry. To cap off this section of the course, we were once again split into groups (this time of about 20 people) and told to create our own print and digital magazine from the ground up–stories, covers, PR campaigns, advertising–you name it, we had to do it. Once again the CEO, I learned that managing 20 people is much harder than 10 and that digital publishing is much more difficult than people realize. Our magazine, Cipher, a go-to guide for all things a sci-fi/fantasy fan could want, was ultimately a success and I couldn’t have been more proud of my team.

bailey katy lena

MY NYC CPC ’15 BFFs.

After a career fair and a final reception, it was time to say goodbye to my CPC family. I left the city with two portfolios of work, 15 new books (oops), and countless memories with some new best friends. I graduated from the CPC knowing that I could make it in New York, New York (which means I could make it anywhere)–and this confidence was the most priceless souvenir I took home from my time in NYC.

With only two short weeks to recover, I said goodbye to the Big Apple and hello to the Happiest Place on Earth.

Until next time, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

