First Tee Jitters

So here it is, my first blog post. It reminds me of hitting my first tee shot in a tournament. That I-know-I-can-do-it-but-I’m-nervous feeling that makes your heart race and your breath short? Yeah, that one. Anyway, here goes nothing.

I love to read. Anything and everything. I’ve been reading for as long as I can remember and I can vividly recall being more excited about getting new books for my birthday than the newest Barbie. From Shakespeare to Hemingway, to Oates, my tastes encompass just about every genre you can think of. Every reader has her favorites though. Hemingway is my go-to author; I truly think he is one of the most brilliant writers who ever touched pen to paper (or fingertip to key nowadays). Jane Austen is also a favorite. Her superbly witty prose can keep me entertained for hours….but I don’t want to get carried away.

Golf is also an important part of my life. However corny it may sound, this sport truly has made me who I am today. From moments of complete achievement and exhilaration to moments of utter defeat and frustration, this sport has taught me what it means to persevere and be humble. Every day I play golf is a battle; some days I win and some days I lose. Every day is a lesson. Perhaps that’s why I love the sport so much. (Not to mention the emotional roller coaster is eerily similar to reading a book). I love to challenge myself, and there is no better way to do it than to play golf.

As a college athlete, sometimes it is difficult to find time to read what I want to when I have so many other obligations and responsibilities. But at the end of the week, I always find time to curl up in my twin-sized bed big chair with a cup of my favorite hot tea and read the books I love. This blog is for those stories–the ones that make me laugh, the ones that make me cry, the ones that remind me why I love to read. And maybe, MY story will help other people discover the rapture, beauty, and wonder of books.

6 thoughts on “First Tee Jitters

  1. I love it Alessa! I love the tag line. You need to add some of your graduation photos with all your books and go,f stuff. Just a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

